Open Minds

3727648475_4d29d7c51a_o.jpg
Photo Tau Zero 2009 © (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

Ever since I was little, my family has never owned a pet. It surprises me how shocked people get when they learn this fact about me. But, because of this, I was never very comfortable around other people’s pets, especially when I happened to run into one at the park or walking around my neighborhood perhaps. However, as I’ve gotten older, it dawned on me that I never realized how pets affect the lives of their owners. I never considered how pets could be fun and pleasing to have around. I also never realized how connected one could become to an animal.

 

4959888069_b4aaa8b7f2_o.jpg
Photo cristina 2010 © (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Then, I became really close friends with a girl from school, who had several pets, that I was around quite often, because we started hanging out at her house quite often. Up until then, I had only considered my own personal opinion and point of view, and never reasoned out why people enjoy having their pets around so much; in other words, I wasn’t too open-minded. It was mainly her dog that changed my views on animals, after meeting, petting, and getting to know her dog a little bit better.

Afterwards, I realized the perks of owing a pet, and how significant a pet’s life could be

34305605156_83d8e4e87e_o.jpg
Photo Rick Cameron 2016 © (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

to its owner. Observing my friend and other pet owners care for their animals, and how their pets often show love back to them, allowed me to understand how people can truly build a connection with them, and love them as a family member. Up until meeting my friend, I’ve always thought that having friends meant having actual people that you could talk out your feelings with. However, the fact that animals could accompany people during lonely times as well, registered into my mind quite quickly after becoming more relaxed near them. In addition, I realized that animals are great listeners, and won’t judge you for whatever you tell them. Third, I recognized that the process of adopting a pet from a shelter never truly crossed my mind as a kid and I’m not sure I knew what that meant when I was little. I had definitely heard of families adopting children, but not animals; because I was just never exposed to them. However, I was soon able to comprehend the sadness and reason for why awareness is always being spread for abandoned or injured animals out in the world.

4562341921_edbd4ee92e_o.jpg
Photo Eddi van W. 2010 © (CC BY-SA 2.0)

After experiencing some of the joys of having a pet, I now try to be more open minded to other people’s ways of life, that may be different than my own. I conclude that the world people and the world in general are fascinating to learn about, because of its differences. Without them everyone would be the exact duplicate of their neighbor, which sounds pretty plain and boring. Lastly, differences is what creates the diversity in the world that is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

